A Welcome Message from the Governors…

The school’s governors would like to welcome you and your child to Cove Junior School. We are proud to be part of a school that provides the children with a safe, happy environment in which they can flourish.

The school’s governing body plays an important role in overseeing how the school is managed. Using experience from our various backgrounds, we provide support that includes; ensuring the school’s performance is evaluated and continually improves, helping to develop strategic direction for the school and ensuring legal obligations are met. Most importantly, the governing body is made up of members who care about the school and want it to continue to succeed. We are very proud of our pupils and all of their achievements. It is a privilege to be part of helping each child become thoughtful, responsible, caring members of our school and wider community.

Please don’t hold back in getting involved with our school community. Whether it is joining the school PTA, supporting trips and events or joining us as a governor, you will be made most welcome. We hope your child enjoys their time at Cove Junior School.


Structure of the Governing Body


The Cove Junior School Governing Body is made up of potentially 15 members. At any one time the membership allows for the membership of: the Head Teacher, a Local Authority governor, a Staff governor, six Parent governors and six Co-opted governors.

Meetings are organised into specific areas so as to be as efficient in discharging our duties as possible. At Cove Junior School, we have divided our duties into three areas, each with its own committee. These committees are: the Finance and Personnel Committee, the Raising Standards (curriculum) committee and the Health and Safety committee. Any other important matters that do not fall into those categories (such as the appointment of a new Head teacher or a new building) are addressed by nominated members of specific working parties. All of the committees have terms of reference that detail their remit. Each of the committees report to the Full Governing Body meeting and all minutes are shared.

All governors are expected to attend the Full Governing Body meetings and in addition join two of the committees to aid with the workload.


Governor Name Governor Category Period of Service Role Committee Membership
Brian Coxhead Co-opted 2000 - 11.22 Benchmarking Governor FGB, H&S, F&P
Eirian Freeman Staff 10.18 - 10.22 FGB, RS, H&S
Warren Gargan Co-opted 07.16 – 07.20    
Tracey Hickie Headteacher 09.16 - ongoing Headteacher FGB, RS, F&P, H&S
Sarah Merry Local Authority 05.13 – 04.21 Chair of Governors FGB, RS, F&P,
Caroline Pickup Co-opted 11.09 - 11.22 Chair of Finance and Personnel FGB, F&P, RS.
Nikki Roberts Parent 10.18 – 10.22   FGB

Esme Trufitt

 Parent 10.16 – 10.20 FGB, H&S, RS
Mark Venner Co-opted 11.10 – 11.22

Vice-Chair of Governors.

Chair of Health and Safety.

Stephanie Wright Co-opted 05.18 – 05.22   FGB
Sarah Maddox Parent 11.18 – 11.22   FGB


Business Interests and governance roles in other schools


Current Governors

Governor Name Governor Category Period of Service Business Interests Governance Roles at other schools
Brian Coxhead Co-opted 08.00 – 11.18 None None
Eirian Freeman Staff 07.16 – 07.20 Staff None
Warren Gargan Co-opted 10.18 – 10.22 Staff None
Tracey Hickie Headteacher 09.16 – ongoing Staff None
Sarah Merry Local Authority 05.13 – 04.21 None None
Caroline Pickup Co-opted 11.09 – 11.22 None None
Nikki Roberts Parent 10.18 – 10.22 None None
Esme Truffit Parent 10.16 – 10.20 None Cove Infant School
Mark Venner Co-opted 11.10 – 11.22 None None
Stephanie Wright Co-opted  05.18 - 05.22 None None  
Sarah Maddox Parent 11.18 – 11.22 None None


Previous Governors


Governor Name Governor Category Period of Service Business Interests Governance Roles at Other Schools
Jan Hayden



2008 - 2017 Staff None

Carol Lloyd



1988 -2017 None None
John Lewis Local Authority 2011 - 2017 None None
Mark Graves Parent 2008 - 2016 None None
Patrick Benjuya Parent 2013 - 2015 None None
Warren Gargan Staff 2014 - 2016 Staff None
Katy Young Head teacher 2009 - 2015 Head teacher None
Sanhita Dandekar Parent 2016 - 2018 None None
Amy Bateman Co-opted 2017 - 2018 Staff None
Iain Findlay Parent 2016 - 2017 None None
Sue Mann Co-opted 2008 - 2018 None None